Elections & Referenda

The nomination period for GSAÉD elections ran from February 27 at 9:00 to March 10 at 16:00. Voting took place March 20, 21, and 22 in GSD 204 from 8:00 to 18:00 and in DMS, FSS, RGN, CBY, and UCU from 12:00 to 18:00.

GSAÉD election results

Elected were the following:

Equity Commissioner: Pascasie Minani
Finance Commissioner: Kawtar Jaanid
Internal Commissioner: Françoise Verschaeve
External Commissioner: Mehdy Mahjoub
Resources Commissioner: Warsama Ahmed
Student Life Commissioner: Hélène Mariama Ndiaye
University Affairs Commissioner: Robert Head
Graduate student representative to the University Board of Governors: Mark Ingham
Cellular and Molecular Medicine: Nikita Larionov
Political Science: Guillaume Deschesnes-Thériault
History: Kathleen Durocher
Education: Mark Ingham
International Development: Middlé Lemoine
Electrical Engineering and Computing Science: Hsiang–Yi Cheng
Geography, Environment & Geomatics: Karen Neil
Economics: Peace Osinike
Mathematics & Statistics: Jane MacDonald
Chemistry: Ryan MacDenell
Nursing: Tanja Manojlovic

Uncontested positions elections

Nominations for uncontested positions were re-opened at the Annual General Meeting of the Association, May 10. Elected by their peers were the following representatives:

Sociology: Ifeoma Nnagbo
Law: Monim Benaissa
Physics: Frederic Bouchard
Criminology: Katarina Bogosavljevic
Graduate student representative to the University Senate, for Humanities: John Ward

Previous years elections and referenda

For the election and referenda results of previous years, consult this archive:

2016 election results
2015 election results
2014 election results
2013 election results

The Chief Returning Officer can be contacted at all times by email at elections@gsaed.ca.